Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Roller coaster...HANDS IN THE AIR and a SMILE on my face

I know I know... I know, it has been way to long....and I am sorry. So much has happened in the last 3 months I have been CrAzY busy. Let me share.

In March I got the stomach flu (fair warning of possible TMI.. :) still unable to vomit (not as much of a good thing as you would think) but Stomach Flu none the less.... now this is a big deal for me, as usually my immune system is attacking itself so much that the guard dogs are already positioned for an attack. In other words, I don't get "normal" sick. Well I did...and we had family in town ( <3! shout out to our Wisconsin people) for a funeral :( I was feeling worse than normal and was not much of a hostess. But if you know me well...I made it work ( and so did my gracious visitors) Well I was getting really dehydrated and unable to have my formula running.( think of a garden hose pumping food into your stomach while you have the stomach flu AND the inability to vomit! yep good times). I was doing my best to avoid a trip to the infusion center for my four hour hydration vacation :) there was a lot going on, and I wasn't going to miss it. So I asked my sweet hubby to get me some pedialyte from the store...I wasn't getting it in fast enough with my feeding tube so I thought...why not .... just a sip... then for the first time in a L O N G time... not only did I sip it... I felt the cool refreshing liquid roll down my esophagus (when EoE is attacking I can't feel anything in my esophagus ) AND I sipped again.. My husband saw the gleam in my eye (and knowing me all to well) said ..."Don't you DARE! " I dared... I drank the pedialyte.... I could feel it all the way down to my stomach. Now as an adult I will confess my next actions would not be recommended. BUT as an adult I thought Why NOT ;) and I chugged last few gulps of my pedialyte. HAHAHAHA besides being severely dehydrated and having some issues with blood pressure and my heart IT FELT AWESOME. I called my GI (gastroenterologist) and let him know...He let me know he had been dreaming of this phone call for 6 years from me he said.... well I want you to try to eat...slow at first, soups, mashed potatoes. then call me in a week.  CAN I TELL YOU how CrAZy it all was....what happened next I find it difficult to admit to... in pubic...Oh Well.. I ate a CUPCAKE :) and it was AMAZING.
 I had a few more appointments scheduled and saw my new cardiologist ( one of my most favorite people I have met in the medical realm) and she was amazed at the progress....heart issues were improving... come back in two weeks.... two weeks later...NO PERMANANT HEART DAMAGE and the all clear for FULL ON CARDIO WORKOUTS ! Which is what I did as soon as I could get home and change my clothes... 2 mile elliptical :) sweat and everything. I  was On Top Of the WORLD. Soon after I saw my GI who wanted me to eat regularly and then proceeded to take my feeding tube out.... right then and there.. I cried.
 To be 100% honest I was not only super happy and excited but also a little scared about what the future would hold... would I be putting that tube back in any time soon. One thing I had learned through all of the last 8 years of my health roller coaster ride is to TAKE THE GOOD DAYS WHEN THEY COME! and boy did I :) Gym five days a week...eating healthy and MORE ENERGY than I had felt in what seemed like a life time. after about 2 weeks the adrenaline wore off...and I tried not to be afraid. Little things... pertaining to my undifferentiated connective tissue disorder (like Lupus with less answers) started to kick in. BUT hey I am eating and exercising and GAINING to much weight. I was told that my metabolism had been shut down for two years and that it would take up to 6-8 months for things to regulate....after about a month and a half and 40 POUNDS later I am still working out...eating well and doing my best to place my confidence in who I am and not my waist size. I am up to 4 miles on the elliptical Monday- Friday some ab work with the kids at night and a mile walk with my Tayleigh :)( and was finally able to RUN a mile without to much joint pain that I had to stop)
 I think fear has left and I hope it stays away for a little while...if I am adding my hopes in here... I hope that my metabolism turns on SOON and I am able to drop some of this unearned weight! Not everything is perfect and I am beginning to restrict my diet, hopefully just wheat and dairy for now. the best part is that I have learned to do pain... I can do discomfort (  I don't like it but I can do it) BUT having a full day of energy is something I am enjoying to the fullest! I don't know what this CrAzy body has in store for my future...but I think it's safe to say that I GOT THIS :) My kids are glad to have a mom who can taste what she is cooking, and join them at the dinner table. I am good to say farewell to my backpack and tubes and cords (even if it only for awhile) I am SO GRATEFUL to all my friends and family who have been there for me through all of this... I know it was difficult so many times, but because of you I can still smile and find joy! I will do my best to blog more frequently and save you from such a long....long... entry next time.

No comments:

Post a Comment